If it seems we are crazy, it is to bring glory to God. And if we are in our right minds, it is for your benefit. Either way, Christ’s love controls us….So we have stopped evaluating others from a human point of view. At one time we thought of Christ merely from a human point of view. How differently we know him now! This means that anyone who belongs to Christ has become a new person. The old life is gone; a new life has begun!

2 Corinthians 5: 13-14, 16-17 NLT (emphasis mine)


Have you seen all the DIY, refashion this piece of junk into something beautiful, trendy and functional how-to’s on Pinterest? Not much of a decorator or housekeeper? There’s a pin for that. Love fashion but can’t afford it? There’s a pin for that. Want to learn how to ________, travel the world, keep your toddler busy for the 5 minutes you’re in the shower or have the best homemade-but-taste-like-a-restaurant-while-planned-a-month-in-advance-meals-family-every-night? There’s a pin for that too.

Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE Pinterest. I’m on it almost everyday, but I had to change the way that I used it. I used to see all the pins my friends had and I would think,

Wow! They’re such a good mom! Look at all those neat projects and activities that they’ve probably done with their kids/spouse/friend. Why am I not doing all these things with my kids/spouse/friend?

I started to play the comparison game with everything. My home, my cooking, my kids, my spouse, my car and even my pets! But then I had a good friend start talking to me about living with less, minimalism,  And then we moved in a short amount of time. And all of those comparisons got packed up in boxes along with our stuff.

We are in a new home and I have decided that I will have a new attitude about who I am; who God has made me to be. He has made me new. Not by human standards but by His. I think we need to not only stop evaluating others from a human perspective but ourselves as well. God has chosen me. He has made me and I am His creation. He has broken the mold, but He is not finished.

When have you had a “made-new” epiphany? A renewing of your mind?

