James 1: 23-25 NLT 

For if you listen to the word and don’t obey, it is like glancing at your face in a mirror. You see yourself, walk away, and forget what you look like. But if you look carefully into the perfect law that sets you free, and if you do what it says and don’t forget what you heard, then God will bless you for doing it.


I have begun to slowly withdraw myself from the world of Facebook and it is hard. Why is it so hard? I have been using FB since my senior year of HS 8 years ago and it was never this hard to just go without. I guess 8 years is long enough for something to become ingrained in your routine. But I started to notice that in my down-time all I was doing was checking FB. I had to remove it from my phone because I would sit on the couch checking for that little blue indicator instead of getting down on the floor and playing with my boys.

As I was reading through a book I read something that struck me as so significant that I now eschew checking FB at all except when my boys are napping or in bed. The author made the comment that while it was hard not to update FB, who really needs to know or even cares about the minutia of my day? Sure people will “like” my status about what I finally decided to make for dinner (A post about why meal planning matters HERE). But how does that really make their day any better?

Furthermore I realized I was becoming like the person in James 1. Facebook was my mirror and the instant I walked away from it, I’d forget what I looked like and would have to go check it again. I would share and like all the “God is Awesome”, “Like this if you love Jesus” posts but what was I doing? Was I reading my Bible during nap time? No. Was I praying for my friends and family? No. Was I pouring myself into someone’s life or investing time to make my house a home? No. I was checking my reflection because in the 10 minutes I walked away someone may have liked or commented on my status. I was a listener/”liker” of The Word but I was not a doer.

I still use FB, but in a much different way. I’m limiting my posts and even my pictures. I use it for communication if no other source is available. I’ve quit all games and have limited the number of groups to ones that are relevant and that I actually use on a regular basis. Furthermore, I am making the effort to check FB at most twice a day. I have been doing this for almost a week now and I already feel a difference in my home.

I want to hear God speaking to me again and I know that the only way to really turn up the volume on God is to turn down the volume on my notifications.

What is FB to you?

