I don’t know how long I’ll be able to use moving as an excuse but…I have been neglecting meal-planning. I mean we have food in the pantry and fridge, but come dinner time I have no idea what I’m making and it’s terrible. I used to do really well with meal-planning. We were saving money,  I knew what I was making each night and in general we were eating healthier because we weren’t opting for the easy out.

Way too many photos of eating here on my phone...
Way too many photos of eating here on my phone…
My boys' favorite veggie!
My boys’ favorite veggie!

My favorite site to help me meal-plan is Saymmm.com. It is FREE first of all. Secondly, I love that I can upload my own recipes, browse through theirs or link up to all those lovely Pinterest recipes that I’ve been saving but always forget I have. I cannot say enough great things about this website. I can plan out ahead for as many or as few days as I like. Hit “create list” and it pulls all the ingredients from those days and puts it onto a shopping list. I can then go through and edit the list based on what I already have in my pantry/fridge. BAM! I can also add other items that aren’t directly related to dinner, like toilet paper or cereal. It even combines similar ingredients so I don’t have to do figure out how many pounds of chicken I actually need.  THEN it breaks the list down into categories so I’m not wandering back and forth trying to find everything while keeping my sanity and my 1 year-old and 3 year-old content.

The double cart: a blessing and a curse.
The double cart: a blessing and a curse.

When I meal-plan, my day goes better. I don’t have this cloud of impending chaos over my day.  I use my “free-time” more effectively because I know that there is at least ONE thing that I will get done today. Even if the laundry is piled high and the boys are a “bit” on the wild side, come dinner time, momma’s got it handled.

1969494_10201519220569064_331339510_o
Even the baby loved this one!

What about you? Do you meal-plan? Are you successful or have you given up on the chaos of dinner? What are your secrets for successful meal-planning? Tell me!

