You ever get the feeling that God is trying to tell you something? It’s something important but you’re just so BUSY that you can’t be bothered to sit down for a minute and listen to what He’s saying. Well I feel like God has been trying to tell me something recently but I haven’t sat down to figure out what, besides there’s a house to clean, faces to wipe and bills to pay.

Say what? Ignoring promptings from God to do housework? Choosing to spend my “free-time” on things other than listening to God (like scrolling through FB for the 100th time)? You know what happens when my children don’t listen? They get time-outs or spankings. So I’m sitting down today to listen because I really don’t want to see the negative consequence for ignoring God.

This article HERE by Matthew L. Jacobson, is just one in a series that I have seen over the last week or so that I’ve really felt were directed at me. I mean, I think I’m a good mom, not a perfect mom but a good one. I’ve recently started working again part-time and I have to say that while I appreciate the extra bit of cushion in our budget, I just DO NOT enjoy being back in the work force. I find that it distracts me while at home and interrupts our routines because all I can think about is what needs to be done before my next shift. What this articles says is what I believe God has been trying telling me.

“What are you working for?”

“That’s easy, I’m working so we can pay off our student loans.”

“No, Sarah. For what are you working?”

Then it hits me. NOW is the time that I have with my kids. They are so precious and open to God’s calling at this age. An overwhelmed/stressed out momma is NOT going to be the embodiment of God’s love. I want them to know God and see God’s provision.  You can work everyday of your life to provide everything for your kids, but in the end all that matters is whether your children are also children of God.

What you’re doing now is teaching them what is important in life.

What will they see? Work? Money? Success? Fame?

What about hope? faith? love? prayer? commitment? serving others?

