So much is happening this time of year it’s overwhelming. I recently told one of my friends that I felt like I was failing at life right now. You know the story. House is a wreck, the kids are constantly fighting and the baby is still waking up 3 times a night. You try to meal plan and then forget, you also forget about the load of clothes in the washer that have been there for a day (or 2?) already. By the time the husband comes home and the kids are in bed, all you can do is sit on the couch, in an almost stupor, and think about all the things you’d wanted to do that day.

SO… it’s been one of those weeks/months. I’ve been swinging back and forth from feeling like I’m on top of things to feeling completely overwhelmed.

Yesterday I brought a blanket outside for my 6 mo old to roll around on while her brothers romped through the backyard. They decided the blanket was much more interesting so they came and sat. After a bit we decided to roll a ball around and then it rolled off the blanket. When my 2-year-old ran off to get it, all of a sudden I just yelled, “Swim Isaac!” and instantly our blanket became a boat in an ocean and we spent the afternoon sailing around the world finding wild animals and weathering storms.

Our blanket "boat" and my 3 hardy sailors.
Our blanket “boat” and my 3 hardy sailors.

I don’t know why I yelled that…normally it takes a lot for me to stop thinking about the things that need doing and to just be with my kids. To spend those few minutes and spark their imagination in a way they hadn’t thought of yet. I normally can’t stand to just sit and play with my kids. I know that sounds terrible, but I also know several moms who are right there with me. BUT.

I realized that God was calling me, in that moment on our “boat”, to let go. Let go of my anxiety about the state of the house. Let go of my frustration about how much time I wasn’t getting with my husband during this Easter season. Let go of my feeling of inadequacy as a mom as my kids continue to bicker and yell.

God called me to release these struggles. To toss them overboard so that I might be anchored in who HE is.

Truth is, your struggles will either weigh you down until your drowning in overwhelm and despair, or they’ll anchor you in the provision and mercy and grace of our heavenly father. BUT only if you let them go first.

I am choosing to be anchored in God, who has shown me, over and over, His desire for me to be close to him. Be anchored in the God who, time and again, has provided for us (to the point even, that my house is stuffed with stuff!). Be anchored in the God who cares about my worries, no matter how trivial. Be anchored in the hope, mercy and grace he gives me as a wife and mother.

What will you choose? Will you be weighed down or will you be anchored?

 

So God has given both his promise and his oath. These two things are unchangeable because it is impossible for God to lie. Therefore, we who have fled to him for refuge can have great confidence as we hold to the hope that lies before us. This hope is a strong and trustworthy anchor for our souls[…]

Hebrews 6:18-19 (emphasis mine)

